2013 KBA 6th Grade State Tournament Recap


No Empty Seats Left For The Championship Game Between Corbin & Lebanon

49 teams from all over the state braved the weather on Friday evening to make it to KBA for a great weekend of action.  To win the state championship, a team has to win at least 5 games in two days!  The competition was as even as we have seen in while, with eventual champion Corbin needing a last second shot to beat JCTMS in the Elite 8.

2013 KBA 6th Grade State Champions

2013 KBA 6th Grade State Champions

State Runner Up - Lebanon Patriots

State Runner Up – Lebanon Patriots

The Championship game was electric.  As you can see in the picture above there were no empty seats as hundreds watched a back and forth game where big shots and big plays were made.  Corbin lead at half-time 27-23, and Lebanon tied the game heading into the 4th 32-32.  Lebanon’s Irvin and Cowherd made big plays to keep the game close, but tournament MVP Cameron Maguet had 10 of his game high 19 points in the 4th quarter to close out the game.

Tournament MVP Cameron Maguet Receives His Award

Tournament MVP Cameron Maguet Receives His Award

Tournament MVP: Cameron Maguet – 16 PPG

All-Tournament 1st Team:

Maguet – Corbin *Tournament MVP

Taylor – Corbin

Wiser – Lebanon

Irvin – Lebanon

Sizemore – North Laurel – 21.4 PPG (Tournament Leader)

Spencer – Elliott Co

McCutcheon – JCTMS

Moreno – Scott Co

Long – Scott Co

Richmond – Highland

Blair – Hazard

All-Tournament 2nd Team:

Cowherd – Lebanon

McClellan – North Oldham

Allen – LTMS

Stewart – Elkhorn

Dickerson – Elliott Co

Hardin – LCA

Chenault – Bryan Station

Duvall – East Oldham

Couch – Emmalena

Jones – Walton Verona

Final 6th Grade State Rankings:

1. Corbin Middle – Coach Jimmy Hendrickson

2. Lebanon Middle – Coach Talbin Overstreet

3. Scott Co Middle – Coach Brian Hombirg

4. North Laurel Middle – Coach Anthony Hibbard

5. JCTMS – Coach Carlos Linville

6. Highland – Coach Keith Patrick

7. North Oldham Middle – Coach Robby Wine

8. Hazard – Coach Happy Mobelini

9. Elliott Co – Coach Matt Spencer

10. LTMS – Coach Nimbo Hammonds

11. Elkhorn – Coach Nathan Cooper

12. Lexington Christian Academy – Coach Henry Thomas

13. East Oldham – Coach Darren Durham

14. Emmalena – Coach Adam Dials

15. Walton-Verona – Coach Chris Grubbs

16. Bryan Station – Coach DJ Moberly